Come back, show me the way!

Emotions were falling heavily,
Penetrating deep inside, but slowly,
Wetting the core of my heart,
Like the rain-drop which reaches 
The leaf hidden carefully beneath the shelter
Of countless others in a colossal tree.

The wind was swinging her wings swiftly,
Feigning dizziness in the mind,
Resting my choking thoughts for a while,
Caressing the tears reflected on my cheeks,
Trying to push them back into my eyes.

The watery-grass on my bare feet,
Leaving me blissful yet it fleets
Away, before I could be content, 
Tickling my sole as I take
the delphic steps ahead.

Sadness was unendurable  
For the grief was too huge to confide in my bosom,
And nature didn’t offer succour this time,
Even though it rained lately.

“Daddy, I miss you already!”
I heard my little sister’s cry,
Bringing me back to life.
She mumbled my unspoken words.

Like the wind, 
I brushed aside her soft, precious,
thread-like tears.

“He will come back soon.”
Telling her the impossible probability,
“Promise?”
Nodding, I held her hand and
Traced the unknown path ahead!
 
 
 
The story poem is a great challenge put forward by J.T. Carlton and Emily, and I am glad to be a part of it. I hope people connect to my writing!

20 Comments Add yours

  1. J.T. Carlton says:

    This is wonderful! The imagery here is palpable, and this leaves a beautiful but uneasy feeling in my gut. I love the lines:

    For the grief was too huge to confide in my bosom,
    And nature didn’t offer succour this time,
    Even though it rained lately.

    Fantastic writing. Thanks so much for joining the group, and for submitting. Shine on!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. srishtiwalia says:

      Thank you. I am so happy that you liked it!
      Glad to be a part of this group.:D

      Liked by 1 person

  2. m amazed by the aura u create with ur words

    Like

    1. Thank you. I really appreciate you stopped by!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Scott says:

    These words came alive for me. I was there. Great job.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so glad my words were able to transcend from my heart to yours! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Rajagopal says:

    Neatly woven story coloured by a mesmerizing web of imagery, such as heavy emotions penetrating deep like rain water seeping through to the bottom most leaf sheltered under other leaf clusters, wind caressing tears threading down the cheek, and wet blades of grass tickling the sole winding ahead, keeping time with delphic undertone in the pronouncement on fondly awaited dad, leaves a pain in the heart. Your name itself means creation, so may that flair continue to shine. And, btw, thanks for liking one of my comments in the network, which enabled my connect with your site…best wishes… Raj.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have compiled all the emotions reflected in my writing so profoundly that you’ve left me speechless.
      I appreciate a lot your visiting my blog and taking out time to leave such a beautiful and semantic comment.
      Ps: you write beautifully yourself.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. xaranahara says:

    Yeah, it’s hard when your dad isn’t there. I know firsthand to a point, but I have seen it more second-hand. I have said countless words of sympathy and if the father were alive, frustration that he had gone out of the child’s life. A father is truly a centerpiece of the family, but the media wants to make fathers seem like not a big deal when they are. Fathers are just as important as mothers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The figure of father, you’ve manifested accurately.
      I wrote this imaginatively, your comment made me feel this is more alive, real.
      Thank you for the lovely comment. ^_^

      Like

  6. xaranahara says:

    Oh, any time. I assumed that given the younger sister’s whispers of “Daddy, I miss you already!” that she was missing having a father figure in her life, and the the older sister’s comment,

    “I heard my little sister’s cry,
    Bringing me back to life.
    She mumbled my unspoken words.”

    that she also had missed her father. I took it as none other than both girls felt lost without their dad. The title of the poem also made me think of those lines and how I felt when I was separated from my father for any given period of time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You could relate to the poem both emotionally and logically. I must sign of a good reader.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. xaranahara says:

    Yes. I have been participating in the scholarly writing and reading of the English language for 14 years now, so I read poetry a bit more deeply than most people do. Also, you happened to write a story I am familiar with both logically and emotionally. You are an excellent poet, Srishti.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow. It’s great to know you a bit. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. xaranahara says:

    Thank you. You are a kind woman and an inspiration to writers like myself. Also, you discuss matters that are actually important, such as family. I don’t see most people doing that anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am gratified. 🙂
      Thank you is a weak word for what I want to express.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. xaranahara says:

        Gotcha, but I am merely being truthful.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. xaranahara says:

      You’re welcome, sweetheart.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

