The Undraped Tree

Standing amidst the lustre of voluminous green,
I held myself apart; yet 
A desire to be like them crawls through my roots.

Rough, nodose, my stems;
Crave for benign calmness of the leaves.
One of the unlucky ones falls to the ground – touching me, 
Benumbing my phloem for a fraction of second,
But, imprinting an everlasting tear on the trunk.

There isn’t anything I can give 
Except my own raw self.
No blossoms, no shade, no nourishment,
Nothing, in the cold winter;
or in the stormy summer winds.
Nothing to lose in autumn,
Nothing to gain in spring.

(Should I be content due to this?
Because there is neither 
obtainment nor relinquishment.
But, No, I am not gratified.
Because satisfaction is 
the outcome of your
Winning a game when
you are about to lose it.
Both of them playing
their own crucial part.)

And I stand alone amidst 
the voluminous green!

 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. freakreborn says:

    Had to read twice due to it sending me into a bit of nostalgia, lovely 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It took me a long time to write this poem.
      Thank you :).

      Like

  2. Absolutely stunning ……I wonder how u do this Srishti 😮

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you saaransh! I don’t know either. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yea coz good things just ‘kinda happen’…………keep going Srishti

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Bad things “kinda happen” too actually. 😛
      Anyway. I appreciate you reading and commenting. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes bad things ‘kinda happen’ too I agree 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Udit. says:

    This was brilliant!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Udit. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Diarist says:

    There isn’t anything I can give
    Except my own raw self.
    No blossoms, no shade, no nourishment,
    Nothing, in the cold winter;
    or in the stormy summer winds.
    Nothing to lose in autumn,
    Nothing to gain in spring…..

    This is poetry in itself. It’s beautiful. Though isn’t the ending abrupt? Or have I failed to comprehend it some way?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. What have you comprehended, my friend? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Thank you for reading it so deeply. And no comprehension is ever wrong. It’s your perspective. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Diarist says:

    To be primitive, faraway from the pretentions of human society. The desire for honesty and the realization of the innate beauty in it… this is what I comprehended

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Your interpretation is correct in its own way. As a writer I cannot force my intentions of the poem on you. So, if you find the ending not appropriate it must be so. 🙂

      Like

  7. I am spellbound!
    I actually felt what you tried to depict in this poetry!
    I am so happy that I came across your blog today!

    Your work is great!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you very much. I am glad my words could connect to you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

