Paramour 

This is perhaps my first love poetry, (the one which perhaps I consider romance poetry) so as to say. Even if you don’t like it feel free to post your comments. That’s a lie. Who am I to tell you “feel free”, there is freedom of speech you can write whatever you wish to. 😛
                     

                   Paramour 

Love didn’t exist in her reality 
unless he came along.
Sabotaged the routine.

She never knew it would be a premonition of much more-

Patience than aggression, 
Completion rather than possession,
Messing up than being tidy,  
Discussing than conciliating,
Holding each other tightly than kissing,
Arguing instead of complying,
Understanding than fighting,  
Amusing than being cheeky,
Sarcastic rather than mawkish,
Stupid than dumb,
Carefree than pretending,
Loving than doubting.

She laughed with him without shying away,
Talked nonsense without being judged, 
Cried without thinking she is debilitating, 
Slept by his side, feeling guarded. 

And He too felt exactly the same. 

She and he were one before
their bodies inhaled 
each other’s shadow!
 

I clicked the image of this painting while staying in a hotel in J&K. I dont know the name of the artist, however it is beautiful. So, whomsoever he/she is, the image courtesy is theirs. 

54 Comments Add yours

  1. The last three lines are fabulous!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you Richard. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. sheldonk2014 says:

    Thank you for your like
    Melanie and I are new to each other’s blog
    As always Sheldon

    Liked by 2 people

  3. izza ifzaal says:

    Amazing it was

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Izza. ^_^

      Like

      1. izza ifzaal says:

        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Sindhuja R says:

    That was nice and deep – the practical part, reality and the general woes – nice work !

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Sindhuja. I am happy that you find it nice. 😀

      Like

  5. Amazing-Amazing art piece, ya to whosoever it may concern.
    And by the “feel free” factor should I tell u ….u write some impeccable poems……………
    ‘their bodies inhaled
    each other’s shadow’…simply brilliant

    Liked by 4 people

    1. I am glad you found my poetry impeccable, but that’s too high a stature for me. 🙈
      Thank you, anyhow. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. haha..u r humble..:)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It is necessary.

        Like

  6. freebryd says:

    Really explores the awkward getting to know you phase, down to the beautiful and true love of two individuals. Lovely poem!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you very much. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. upenreddy says:

    When you like someone we start being the the real we and you potrayed that in your poem. Amazing:)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah, true that. But, you see it can be the opposite too, like when one likes someone he/she starts pretending, hiding away his/her flaws etc.
      anyhow, thank you Upen.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. upenreddy says:

        yeah,I agree with you.:)

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I like that! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I love the way you compared the opposites in your poem. It’s beautiful! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Jennifer. I intended the juxtaposition. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes I noticed that and you did a wonderful job! 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Thank you. Yayyy!

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Thank you Jennifer. 🙂 I intended that juxtaposition. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  9. The last line is gold.:0)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you. It’s my favourite too. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Alok Singhal says:

    The last 3 lines are the best. And, i agree on the painting…it is gorgeous!

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Sindhuja R says:

    HI Srishti,
    I’ve nominated you for the Leibster award- pl check my latest post.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you sindhuja! But I’ve already been nominated for this award. 🙂
      Surely I am going to check your answers. 😌

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Pippa says:

    I love this one in particular! What wonderful words!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I am glad you liked it.

      Like

  13. It’s beautiful 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks a ton. ✌🏻️😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! ✌🏻️

      Liked by 1 person

  14. ladycamecu says:

    I love the back and forth, the intensity, the stages, and the resulting of unity! Beautiful!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am just glad you are reading my posts!
      It feels really good when you find people taking out time to review your work. Thank you!
      Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ladycamecu says:

        You are welcome and your posts remember that if you felt they were worth writing they worth reading even if they are screaming for help!

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I get your point. It’s just that people do not read much these days, not to deny the fact that WordPress community is really warm and appreciating but I just love when people read my stuff!

        Liked by 2 people

  15. Love can be full of contradictions, but it is still worth exploring and trying 🙂 Love your post 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you very much! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Nice, enjoyed reading this 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! I appreciate your reading me and commenting. 🙂

      Like

  17. Ashish kumar says:

    great creation depicting “romanticism”… very well penned… 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. This is perhaps the one which I consider romantic poetry, else there are so many of my friends and readers who think a lot of my poetry has a touch of romance.
      Anyway, thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  18. The last three lines, just Wow… Beautifully penned. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Srishti, your poetry has the magnitude of emotions and sensitivity which provides a different taste for the poetry loving readers. Wow Keep writing such beautifully composed posts

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you for the lovely comment. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

