An Unheard Cry

I usually don’t write long poems, because I think one tend to lose the reader somewhere in the middle of it due to the length of the poem. Whatsoever, this poem has a bit of uncanny attribute to it, and I am using uncanny in a positive way as strange as it sounds but is true. Not lengthening the post because the poem itself is long, read ahead and I hope you enjoy.
 

               An Unheard Cry

Trying to sleep in the middle of the night,
My mind begins to wonder,
The perpetual process starts to occur.

A tear lingers, taking the usual path,
Through the cheek, towards the side of my nose,
Flowing freely under the gravity of my emotions.
Reaching the tip of my lips, it encumbers inside,
Tasting the visceral feelings of the saddened heart,
My tear worked as an ambrosia for a while.

Black and White, does only these surround my world?
Where are the other invisible colours of life?
Have they all concocted and became black?
Or will they soon originate from the colour white?
But this doesn’t mean I have all the colours in my palette 
Or does it? 
Is there only despair or some hope left; my heart doesn’t know.

It just asks the same question again and again-
Why pain and hurt the constant companions?
And tears an addiction to these swollen eyes?

Trying to sleep in the middle of the night,
My mind begins to wonder,
The perpetual process starts to occur.

The hard floor beneath me squeezes a little,
Forcing me to curl my body yet again into a smaller ball.
Tomorrow, will again be the same exhausting day,
When my hands will be manoeuvred smoothly around the lashes of the broom,
My hair tightly affixed to my head,
My thoughts neatly constrained in my mind,
My legs swiftly moving around different houses,
Yet not a single I can call home.

How I wished every day that, that broom would turn into a pen,
And my hands would spill out words,
Words which define me, words which reflect me;
Thoughts sprinkled on the blank white sheet,
Which not to forget is like my life,
The black ink not forget manifest my life.
But, this black and white hides under it the whole palette to paint my canvas.

Alas, my hands cannot handle the weight of the pen,
The world cannot grasp my budding nuances.

Trying to sleep in the middle of the night,
My mind begins to wonder,
The perpetual process starts to occur.

My brain perhaps is not cultivated to be a writer.
“You cannot write” – my mind states,
“But You can speak”- my heart whispers.

But who listens to the soft cruel words of the weaker?
Who understands the misery of all souls like mine?
Writing is what I want,
Writing is what I need,
To express the overflowing desire of my heavy bosom.

But again, my poor fingers do not know how to form an alphabet.
How to curve themselves to create meaning.
Will someone help me after half of my life is over?
After the world is used to my this very existence?

Trying to sleep in the middle of the night,
My mind begins to wonder,
The perpetual process starts to occur.

Just before I could gain the required courage and determination,
To face the buzzing worldly bites,
The sun rises above the horizon,
Leaving my contemplation for another black nocturnal night.

83 Comments Add yours

  1. charlypriest says:

    This was powerfully written

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you very much. But it’s long. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 2 people

      1. charlypriest says:

        Yep, it was maybe it bit too long for wordpress. Thatยดs why when reading people on wordpress is hard to really read the whole thing when there are so many other people out there to read and I donยดt have 24 hours of the day to do so. I try to keep it short.

        I donยดt think it was too long, maybe just a bit, but not much. If that is the length you needed to express all that you needed then be it. It was a nice read.

        Liked by 3 people

      2. Thanks.
        *a sigh of relief*
        I am happy that you read it. I really am.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. charlypriest says:

        Me too, have a great day Srishti.

        Liked by 3 people

      4. Nena says:

        I do not think it was too long;) When something captivates, you read on without a sense of time:) Thanks for not holding back on sharing this beautiful work of art!

        Liked by 3 people

      5. Thanks Nena. I am so happy to read your comment! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 2 people

  2. One’s calling is a compulsion that torments us until we surrender everything to fulfill it. You write beautifully and this is a wonderful poem that held my attention all the way through. I’m glad you re-filled.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Yeah. I am re-filled with just this small thought. Thank you for reading. Coming from a writer like you, means a lot. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 2 people

      1. A deep, complex, small thought. That poor, little tree just needs water, fertilizer, and some nurturing enabling it to reach for the sky and fill all who gaze upon it with wonder.:0) You don’t know how many books I wrote in my head at night when I was young, before I had the confidence to write anything for others to see. We cave-dwellers are all the same…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You have a beautiful thought process, I am amazed at you relating the image with my poem which actually is about a woman who had a dream of being a writer but couldn’t fulfil it due to her inability to write and the impoverished circumstances.
        As children we are more creative than adults but then at that time we are not able to manifest it.

        Liked by 2 people

      3. I am a survivor of poverty, abuse, drugs, poor health and my creativity is a useful tool in my survival along, with determination of not allowing my circumstance in life to define me or limit me. The world sees a woman neglected and abused as child, uneducated high-school dropout, without privilege, married to a contractor, and no one special. I see myself differently. I am a late bloomer because of my long struggle to overcome but it is that struggle that gives me insight that fuels my creativity. I am an overcomer so, I see what that little tree needs not only to survive but overcome to become. I’m also, a painter and a visual person.:0)

        Liked by 2 people

      4. Oh my god. You are a strong personality indeed. Thanks for sharing your story, I look forward to more of your posts. You are a very creative person. โค

        Liked by 1 person

      5. You my little sister have those same qualities. Your voice and perspective are unique.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Vikas Sharma says:

    This is nicely with written; expressed beautifully.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Beautiful!! well described!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  5. izza ifzaal says:

    You had that uncanny ability to make it so swaying with words
    I am in awe of it and the depth with which you portrayed was believably epic

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you very much. Indeed, means a lot. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Saiz says:

    Very well composed.
    Especially the beginning. Chin up! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Srishti, you are an amazing writer, everything you do is outstanding! โค Getting your thoughts and feelings out in a blog is so therapeutic is really does heal the heart and soul. Bravo to you! ๐Ÿ™‚ You are not alone โค

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Thank you. That was so kind. ^_^

      Liked by 2 people

      1. โค โค โค

        Like

  8. aditilibra11 says:

    I cannot even describe how well written this was!
    It’s rare to find poems that instantly take you into a sort of a trance as if it’s right in front me.
    It’s as if I was the woman,curled up hoping someday I’d be able to explore my potential.
    This was soo beautiful!
    The very thought of writing about this is insanely incredible!
    โค

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you sooooo much!
      I love oxymorons hence your last words insanely incredible caught my attention stupendously and it describes how amazing a writer you are.
      Thanks again for leaving such a beautiful comment!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. aditilibra11 says:

        hahaha!
        There’s a long way to go if writers like you are my inspiration ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  9. The thought you expressed is so deep and true ๐Ÿ™‚ Many cries go unheard but if we hear our cries and try to correct it then the world can seem more bright ๐Ÿ™‚ But everything requires help and Help will definitely come at the right time,that’s the job of nature & universe and it seldom disappoint ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

    1. #Agreed
      You are right! But sometimes you need to help yourself.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. That is a must. God helps those who help themselves ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Ashish kumar says:

    This is so deep and immense poem which is expressed so beautifully… I wonder whether I will be able to write such kind of poem… ๐Ÿ™‚
    So well expressed, the emotions can be felt while reading because of the beautiful crafting of words in brilliant manner… This is an “epitome”, no doubt about that… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you very much! I don’t write that well though. You have given me such a nice compliment that I don’t think I will be able to deal with it. But I am honoured.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Ashish kumar says:

        Few literary pieces have the power to create an everlasting impact and this poem belongs to that category… great creation indeed…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am flattered. Thanks a ton.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Norway Mist says:

    powerful lines melt in beats of mind…well written

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you! Compliments always make you smile, and embarrassed sometimes too. :p

      Liked by 2 people

  12. Swati Dixit says:

    Wow! You’ve gained yourself a new fan! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hahaha, thanks! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Beautiful, I felt it, it reminds me of when I’m alone, dealing with deep heartfelt emotions of my personal journey. The times when God is working the most in my heart, and the loneliness I feel, is the absence I’ve taken from Him! It reminds me of the sorrows only He can mend!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hey, thanks for reading and taking out time to comment.
      It feels good to know people still have belief in God. And yes, “he can mend”

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The intention is to make people sad, :P. But there is a little hope in the end.

      Like

  14. Anna says:

    Beautiful poem and not at all too long, just perfect ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks a ton! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Anna says:

        You’re welcome a ton ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  15. greg1948 says:

    You did not lose me in the middle of your poem, which means it must have been exceptional.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! This made me smile. ^_^

      Like

  16. Ah, beautiful. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

      1. You’re welcome, Ti. :* Can I call you Ti?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You can call me whatever you want to. What’s in a name? *winks*

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Hahaha. Okay! Ti it is, then! *grins*

        Liked by 1 person

  17. lorriebowden says:

    Wow!! Yes! I KNOW you are a writer! Thank you for this beautiful writing! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hehe, thank you! So much love for this comment and a reader like you! :*

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Rajagopal says:

    Very well versed, Srishti, and long only beautifully, not wearily, as unfoundedly feared by you. The travails of the woman in your lovely poem, and images of a tear winding its way down, encumbered in hunger and pain of an yearning tongue, weary fingers binding around a broom, drudging from house to house, in the fervent hope of wielding a pen at some point of time in future, would moisten even an unfeeling eye…best wishes.. Raj.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for your wonderful comment. Your interpretations are generally always beautiful. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Prathyusha Pillari says:

    Wow! Amazingly written!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  20. Ur poems r always so potent that i can’t resist commenting….and I reckon lengthy poems and the comic ones are the most difficult to write coz it may get cheesy……..and u did it effortlessly here…keep writing Srishti ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you saraansh! ๐Ÿ˜€
      Your comments are always appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Matt On Accident says:

    Have you overcome your writers block yet? Thank you for the ‘Likes!’

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Nope, I haven’t. I don’t think it’s going to happen soon. :/

      Like

      1. Matt On Accident says:

        When it’s time! Keep your head up! ๐Ÿ‘

        Liked by 1 person

  22. Ashish kumar says:

    I have nominated you for Starlight Blogger Award… check here… https://ashishvision.wordpress.com/2015/09/20/starlight-blogger-award/ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I am going to do this soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  23. Really long but beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  24. stacilys says:

    Srishti, this was so well penned. You have nothing to worry about when it comes to writing and expressing your heart, my friend. You have bled over these words and it is easy to see that you gave your heart in passion for this piece. I would have to say though, that this is no longer an unheard cry, right ๐Ÿ˜‰
    It was also very captivating and emotional. Very well done indeed.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you sooo much!
      I didn’t know you would actually like it that much, I have got really ambiguous responses for this poem!๐Ÿ™ˆ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. stacilys says:

        I really did like it.
        ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  25. wwwpalfitness says:

    Very nicely done. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

