Man and Woman – You and Me; or the reverse?

You want my heart?
I desire the strength of your mind.
You want to touch my soul?
I need to embrace your body.
You want me submissive (because you are)?
I want to cut you, slash you apart.
You want me to look beautiful?
I love my morning yawning face.

You want to abduct my wounds?
But do you know they are recurring in nature?
I rather wish only I have the power to hurt you,
Because I won’t ever do that.
You want to catch hold of me?
I instead want to sky-dive with you. 
I wish to run miles away with you.
Panting, laughing, sweating, sparkling, and relaxing.
You ask me to be carefree
Yet, you never let me free.
You are all around me, 
I am caged without boundaries.
You are all in me, 
In my nerves,
In my nightmares,
In the dew on my lips,
In the smoke of my cigarette.

But, I was always Mephistopheles and you the veiled Rebecca.
You were a man and I was a woman,
Hadn’t it been better if our genders were exchanged?
Since transcending the trench of our roles,
Was never acceptable.
We were meant to separate.

I wanted all of you;
And you just desired something in me,
Which was unknown even to me.
Why didn’t you love me the way I did? 
Aggressive I was, and you passive.
Our love never bloomed fire,
‘Cause you always prevented the ignition. 
Your image was invariably murky, 
Foggy, that you dissolved me into it.
Nonetheless, we both loved each other. 
We were separated, anyway. But when did true lovers unite?
When did opposites reconcile?
When did earth and sky meet?
They just create an illusory horizon.

But then again doesn’t language has oxymorons?
 

“You are an epitome of ambiguity”, you smirk. 
“Really? As if you aren’t?” I wink, in purgatory.


                                  ***

The image is taken in a J&K hotel. The two birds definitely coincided with my  theme. Not to deny the artist has done an amazing work.

62 Comments Add yours

  1. Matt On Accident says:

    Aww, Srishti, sometimes I don’t understand these. 😔 But, I am happy you overcame your writers block!☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, there it’s alright. I need to improve that implies.
      Thanks for reading though!
      And yeah I overcame the block yet pieces of it still remain.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. stacilys says:

    Very intense. Well done Srishti.
    😊

    Like

    1. Thank you! 😀
      I am so happy you used that word. 😌😋😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. stacilys says:

        Haha. It’s a great word, isn’t it.
        Have a great day Srishti.
        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. aditilibra11 says:

    One line really caught my attention.’abduct my wounds’.And I have no idea why it’s left me thinking.
    I will get back to you on it cause its kinda stuck in my head and my thoughts are kinda all over the place 😀
    Again,reading about ‘love’ is always a different experience,and you know how I find your writing 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, caught ya! Those words mean exactly what you are thinking, I guess.
      Again, thanks for reading and taking out time to comment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. aditilibra11 says:

        Ya 😀
        Even if I do miss out your posts,I remember to visit as soon as I get time 🙂 Love your work! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am flattered! : *
        Thanks for the love.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Sindhuja R says:

    So deep and expressive.. Beautiful.
    Keep ’em coming !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, yeah I hope to shower you.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Too good poem, nicely expressed , you have deep understanding of life and relationship !
    Excellent !

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for the lovely comment! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome !

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I of July says:

    ”I wanted all of you;
    And you just desired something in me,” – very good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much! 🙂

      Like

  7. VAVA says:

    so intense ?? It could be Shrishti only. Love the intensity with which you pour your heart in the couplets God bless the writing skill

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank youuuuu!
      I am so happy you liked it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Upen Reddy says:

    Gifted and talented
    #Expression.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Srishti ……..ur work never ceases to amaze me

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe!
      Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  10. How long does it take you to write each piece, say this one for example?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It depends actually. On my mood, the flow of my thoughts, the clarity of expression etc etc.
      This one it took me two days. I worked maybe 1 hour or 30 minutes per day. Actually less than that.
      For this one I think I was clear what I wanted to write.
      Why did you ask though

      Liked by 1 person

      1. aditilibra11 says:

        He probably wants to know how much effort you must be putting into these,because its difficult to believe your pieces are effortless even though that may be true 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Hahaha, Aditi.
        Not always they are effortless. 😋:P

        Like

      3. aditilibra11 says:

        I know bae!
        It happens so many times that the effortless pieces turn out so much better than the ones we work so much harder on.
        But I haven’t seen that in your work.The consistency is perfect! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ohmigod. My day is going to be nice today I think! 😎

        Liked by 1 person

      5. aditilibra11 says:

        yayy!Brushed my complimenting skills 😀
        *pat on the back*

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I don’t think I can ever write my emotions as poems. Honestly, I feel too dumb to even get the simplest ones. But if I try sometime, I just wanted to know how long it takes for someone like you, who can post one every few days. 🙂

        Liked by 3 people

      7. Writing poems is not difficult, since it’s not necessary to have a rhyme scheme.
        Try and perhaps you will succeed.
        I am not that frequent, it takes time for me to get in that mindset and flow maybe. Anyway, have a great day!

        Like

  11. izza ifzaal says:

    This is such a great depiction of reality. .loveeeed it

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much for the lovely comment!

      Like

  12. bowmanauthor says:

    This is absolutely beautiful and so spiritual, meaningful. It was so nice of the swans to enhance your genius and the wisdom of the ages.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!
      I am glad you liked it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Nice post 🙂 love the pic 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!
      I know right? The sculpture was beautiful that’s why I instantly clicked!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haan mast tha 🙂 and good that you’re over the writer’s block 😉 welcome Girl 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am NOT over it!
        I am still in it.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh.. Tum post mat karo zyada chalega.. Bas keep writing in some diary or editor.. And hopefully you’ll be out of it 🙂 write anything and everything

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I know…
        I am just not getting time. :/

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Oh haan then good.. Aramse likhna.. Good luck for that 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  14. You won’t imagine, I hadn’t liked your post in the first time & read it again today and saw my comment and I was like, did I read this awesome work earlier and didn’t remember? Sach me, I felt as if I am reading it for the first time but it is not the first time 😀 Shows how good and uniquely you express or how forgetting I have become or how different I must have been today and then when I read it for the first time 😀 But loved both the times 😛 When’s the next one coming? 😀 How could I forget the image also? I am getting crazy, I guess 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hey darshith!
      I am glad you re-read it till the time I am sorting my brain to pull out something good to write. I am just not able to write right now, because there is just too much work. But I am going to post something in a day or two, just thinking how to complete that one.
      I am extremely happy to see you felt that way after reading this!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ok Girl, take your time for the masterpiece to be ready for us to appreciate and do AAWWWWssss 😛 Work is the only thing that is making me forgetful 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahahaha, be ready for something that wouldn’t be that nice. 😛
        This time of the semester is so hectic! :/

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Your THAT NICE will be definitely above par than most of the nice posts in WP 😀 No one is perfect here so do keep sharing 😉 Your thoughts matters mostly not your words 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Eeeeee, so much nice things. :p

        Liked by 1 person

      5. That’s awesome composition Stishti

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Thank you very much! 🙂

        Like

    1. Thank you very much! 😀

      Like

  15. Rajagopal says:

    Nice poem Srishti. I liked the concept of Mephistopheles trying to woo a Rebecca, or vice versa, of one desiring the whole and the other wanting to cherry-pick, and yet reconciling towards a love without fruition…best wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I am glad you paid attention to that analogy. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Rohit says:

    Beautiful and magical writing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

